The secession of seven states following the election of Abraham Lincoln led to the establishment of the Confederate States of America, composed of the 11 states shown in this map from 1861, prior to the Civil War. The Confederate states were Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.