The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent regulatory commission, directly responsible to Congress. The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 and is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. It is directed by five commissioners appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate for 5 year terms. Pictured here from left to right are commissioners Kevin J. Martin, Deborah Taylor Tate, Michael Powell (term finished as of January 2006), Michael J. Coops, and Jonathan S. Adelstein.